School Logo School Logo


Primary School

Where children come first



Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Governing Body


We currently have a Governing Body' which has 13 members and consists of:


  • The Headteacher
  • Two Parent Governors
  • One Local Authority appointed Governor
  • One Staff Governor
  • Eight Co-opted Governors (they are usually from the local communities).


The Governing Body is there to help the school provide the best possible education for pupils by:


  • Helping set the Schools vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies and making creative use of resources
  • Monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the head teacher to support and challenge them in managing the school
  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it as well as the staff it employs


The Headteacher is responsible for the day-to-day organisation and management within the school.


  • Governors challenge the Headteacher and school staff, ensuring all actions have a positive effect on children's achievement.
  • Governors come into school in school hours several times a term to ensure that the School Development Plan is having a positive effect.
  • Governors are informed of actions and procedures in the school, but are not able to make any decisions about the running of the school. They monitor the spending of the school and challenge to ensure the money is spent to raise standards for all children.
  • Governors' minutes are public documents and may be viewed on request a term in arrears once they have been agreed by the full Governing Body.
GovernorCategory and appointmentPositionMeeting % attendanceTerm of officeBusiness Interests
Mr Michael AshleyCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing BoardChair of Governing Board100 % 7/7

21/11/17 to 20/11/21

Re-appointed 21/11/21 to 20/11/25

Governor at Vale View Primary School and Trustee/Director of Whinless Down Academy
Mr Darran CallaghanHeadteacherHeadteacher OngoingNone declared
Mr Duncan ComberStaff Governor - elected unopposed by staff at Aylesham Primary School 100% 2/221/04/22 to 20/04/26Member of staff at Aylesham Primary School
Mr Idorenyin EtokakpanCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing Board 100% 6/613/10/21 to 12/10/25Parent of pupils at the school
Ms Margarita GwanzuraCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing Board 50% 3/613/10/21 to 12/10/25None declared
Mr David HodkinCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing Board 50% 1/223/03/22 to 22/03/26None declared
Mr Oyedola OyedijiParent Governor - elected by parents of Aylesham Primary School 100% 2/221/03/22 to 20/03/26Parent of a pupil in school
Mrs Heather RatcliffeCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing board 57% 4/720/05/20 to 19/05/24None declared
Mr Ian RogersLocal Authority Governor - approved by KCC and appointed by Full Governing Board 86% 6/712/03/20 to 11/03/24Lecturer at the University of Kent at Canterbury
Miss Nicola SpencerParent Governor - elected unopposed by parents of Aylesham Primary School 71% 5/713/11/20 to 12/11/24Parent of a pupil at the school
Mrs Catherine WebsterCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing BoardVice-Chair of Governing Board100% 7/712/07/17/to 11/07/21 Re-appointed 13/07/21 to 12/07/25None declared
Mr Roger WraggCo-opted Governor - appointed by Full Governing Board 43% 3/716/05/18 to 15/05/22 Re-appointed 16/05/22 to 15/05/26None declared
Vacancies1 x Co-opted Governor